Department represented SPER leadership continues

June 3, 2024
In addition to her responsibilities as department chair, Dr. Dawn Misra was elected President of SPER (Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research). Dr. Misra continues a longstanding tradition from our department of being a part of this organization’s leadership. Congratulations to Dr. Misra!

SPER's 37th Annual Meeting is scheduled to be held June 17-18, 2024 in Austin, Texas.

Below is a list of individuals from our department who have actively contributed to SPER leadership.

Claudia Holzman, Member at Large

Candice Johnson – (new faculty beginning August 2024) Treasurer

Claire Margerison, Member at large

Dawn Misra, Secretary, President Elect

Nigel Paneth, Member at Large, President

Jaime Slaughter-Acey, President

Nicole Talge, Member at Large




About SPER

Founding Chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Dr. Nigel Paneth, was a previous president of SPER and was one of a group of ten that founded the organization as a spinoff of SER (they added Pediatric to SER, hence the P in SPER) Dr. Paneth recently received the Presidential award for service to the society

SPER is an organization of individuals from a wide variety of disciplines who share a common interest: the epidemiology of pregnancy, infancy and childhood. The Society was formed in 1988, and holds an annual meeting each June, immediately preceding the meeting of the Society for Epidemiologic Research (SER). The work presented at SPER’s annual meeting represents the cutting edge of research in pediatric and perinatal epidemiology.

The objective of the Society is to foster pediatric and perinatal epidemiologic research. This research includes the study of any factors that influence maternal health and the health and development of children, from their conception through their adolescence.

Learn more about SPER